Homemade Veggie Burgers

We’ve eaten tons of veggie burgers in our day, and recently instead of buying them frozen, I’ve started making my own. Special thanks to Kath for her bean burger post that helped me fine tune my technique! They are super easy and super good for you, not to mention that it’s a lot cheaper to do it this way too.

1 cup of black beans (if canned, rinsed and drained)
3 Tbsp whole wheat flour and/or rolled oats
2 to 3 Tbsp your favorite HFCS free bbq sauce (or ketchup, mustard…. some liquid to bind it together)
optional 1/2 to 3/4 cup other veggies, like onions, corn, garlic, chopped mushrooms
salt and pepper to taste

Mash beans in a bowl with fork or potato masher. Once sufficiently mashed, add sauce, flour or oats and optional veggies.

mashed_beans
Pictured here with chopped raw mushrooms and whole wheat flour.

Stir together until ingredients are well mixed. Add a little more sauce or flour as needed. Should be thick so that you can roll it in your hand and then flatten into a patty. Will be slightly sticky.

Lightly coat a frying pan with olive oil (I love my Misto!) and place burger in pan on medium heat.

beans_in_the_pan

Let cook on one side 4 – 5 minutes. It’s ready to flip when you can easily free it from the pan with a spatula.

beans_flipped

Once flipped, this is a good time to flatten a bit more with your spatula. Since this side is cooked it won’t stick to your spatula. Cook an additional 4 – 5 minutes, flip again and cook another 2 – 3 minutes on each side.

Makes 2 – 3 burgers, depending on the size you make and how many other veggies you add.

Served here on an Arnold’s multi-grain sandwich flat and topped with red leaf lettuce, tomato, onion, dill pickle, mustard and a slice of provolone cheese!

Open wide!

Open WIDE</

7 Responses

  1. Ok….that looks DELICIOUS!! I bought Morningstar gardenburgers and really liked them but I am definitely making these. Wow! That is sooo easy. I have those same flat rolls, too. (hehe) Aren’t they great?

  2. Wow, this looks yummers, Alison! I know you’ve got all kinds of time for reading, but.. A good friend of mine from college (we studied voice together) has a website about Vegetarianism and I thought that you just might enjoy some of what she blogs so.. here!

    http://www.thetravelingvegetarian.tv/

    if you get the chance, give her a read. I think I’m going to give making veggie bugers a try!

  3. Tracy and Jennifer, if you try them out, report back! I’d love to hear how it went and if you made any changes.

    Thanks for link Tracy, cool site!

  4. How could I NOT have heard of the “Misto”??! I’m getting one so fast now
    thx for the idea

  5. I scoured thru many websites re: how to make a veggie burger from scratch. I was pleasantly surprised when I came across your homemade veggie burger recipe. I was happy to see there were no eggs in it and the recipe was very basic, which is just what I was looking for. They turned out better than I ever expected! I’ll never go back to store bought veggie burgers again. Thank you for giving me the push I needed to try this. =)

  6. [...] dinner last night, I tried out a black bean burger recipe by Alison from Mama's Weeds.  The best thing about these burgers was that they were SO SIMPLE [...]

  7. [...] only ever had them when eating out. Following Matt the No Meat Athlete’s suggestion, I used the recipe at Mama’s Weeds. Here’s what I [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

