This is What I Call Exciting

A run followed by taking the recycling to the curb. It must be Monday.

I woke up with my stomach rumbling, so I ate one of these guys. What perfect pre-run fuel! Nutrient dense but not high in quantity so it’s not going to slosh around in my stomach when running.

date_bar

This morning’s run was 5.28 miles in 41 minutes, 7:52/mi. It sure FELT a lot faster than that! I didn’t stop my watch when waiting for traffic at the light so I’m sure that’s what the explanation is…. ;) har har

I love listening to Jillian during my workouts. She’s all I listen to on my iPod these days. I swear I get so wrapped up in what she’s saying that the time just flies by and before I realize it I’m home!

Shortly after I walked in the door my mom called to ask if I knew Zak was on the front page of the local section of today’s paper! NO, I did NOT!

zak_paper

Look, he’s waving to us! Hi honey! Oh wait, that’s a drum stick in his hand. He came home one night in April from this class and said that the paper was there doing a story on the drum circle, but I had completely forgotten about it until my mom called today.

After the morning excitement subsided, breakfast was a cow pie surprise chocolate breakfast cookie and a cup (+ a refill) of organic Green Mountain Coffee house blend.

68_breakfast_cookie

I never use to be a coffee drinker but have come to love it because it slows down my breakfast eating and allows me feel more satisfied with breakfast. A healthy portion of rolled oats doesn’t hurt either I suppose! ;) But I can’t help but think back to the days when I use to eat a simple bowl of cereal and milk for breakfast and would go back for seconds and maybe even thirds before I felt full and satisfied.

Zak grabbed a couple date bars as he was heading out the door. Seeing they are almost gone already he asked when I was going to make them again. Today is as good a day as any!

4 Responses

  1. Lol! Cow pie surprise! Too funny! I like the look of your date bars! Too bad your girls don’t like them, but that means all the more for you and your hubby! I’m sure once they get older, they’ll appreciate all the goodness you make them! :)

  2. I just bought my first bag of organic coffee and will break into it tomorrow morning. Wondering if it will be more yummy than the Folger’s Gourmet Hazelnut that I have been drinking. They’re both of Arabica beans, so probably not, but i can always hope. Coffee rules, it’s the drink of the gods!

  3. I tried your breakfast cookie! It was soooo good. I am absolutely making it a regular part of my week.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

