Memorial Day 2001

Memorial Day, 8 years ago, Zak and I were newly married and on our way to Aruba!

Memorial Day 2009? We cleaned the garage.

This morning I got to make up for Friday’s Change in Plans bike ride. Since Zak was off we had a leisurely breakfast together before the offspring made their way downstairs. I decided to postpone my bike ride to later in the morning to give it a chance to warm up a bit.

Oh Breakfast Cookie how I’ve missed thee! It’s been a couple of days. hehehe…

blue_breakfast_cookie

Made last night with my usual 1/2 c rolled oats, heaping tablespoon of ground flax seed, 1/2 a smashed banana, cocoa powder and some glugs unsweetened chocolate almond milk.

Zak thinks I should call this “Cow Pie Surprise”.

Around 10 I finally ventured out and cranked through 14.5 miles in 54 minutes.

After I got back we got started on the garage and spent the day hauling EVERYTHING out, rearranging, organizing, sorting, sweeping, throwing away….

[insert before pic here]

Oops, no before pic, accidentally on purpose. Take my word for it, it was a mess. Shut up, it was a long, cold winter!

Once the kids got bored we three girls went inside. They watched a movie while I made granola and puttered around the house.

granola_1 granola_2

After a day of slaving away in the garage, I made black bean burgers and kale chips for dinner tonight.

kale_chips

I first heard about Kale Chips on Fat Free Vegan, but she didn’t have much luck with them, so it wasn’t until I read Kath’s post about them that I finally tried them. If you’ve yet to discover kale chips, it’s about time you did!

I pretty much follow Kath’s method. Today I used Kale in a bag for the first time and it made it 100x easier to just take it triple washed from the bag and plop it down on a cookie sheet! Pre heat the oven to 350, place trimmed, washed and dried kale on a cookie sheet. I spray mine with a bit of olive oil using my Misto and then sprinkle them with a bit of salt and Parmesean cheese. Bake for 10 minutes, flip and stir around with a spatula, bake an additional 5 – 10 minutes as needed, until chips are dried out and crispy!

These are awesome and oh so healthy it hurts! We love these in our house. Well, Zak and I love them. The girls just smile and nod knowingly when we offer them some. Yeah right mom, nice try.

kale_chips_done

Veggie burgers
bean_burgersjpg
and veggie toppings
burger_toppings

Time to eat!

table_set

Somewhere under that pile of vegetables is a veggie burger, I swear.

veggie_pile

vb_dinner

My sweet little dining neighbor finishing up her veggie dog.

max_dining_companion

Off the get the kitchen cleaned up, at least the garage is done!

cleaned_garage

Wow, it’s like we could park a car in there! IMAGINE THAT!

4 Responses

  1. Happy Anniversary you two!!! πŸ™‚ I didn’t even know. At least you got to spend the day together.

    I’m going to try those Kale chips, too. πŸ™‚

  2. Kale chips? Hmmmm, your description is good, but I hafta think about that one.
    And HAPPY ANNIVERSARY!!!

  3. Thanks ladies!

    Jennifer, when you try the Kale Chips report back on how they turned out and what you thought! πŸ˜€

  4. I love me some KALE CHIPS – Spritz a little olive oil spray & some garlic, thyme, salt and pepper – stick it in the broiled for like 3 minutes/or maybe 5 and DONE! Delicious and so very healthy! It’s tough to get KALE into my diet but this way of doing so works!!!

Leave a Reply

