Memory Lane

I love to walk down Memory Lane. Zak thinks I’m a nerd and doesn’t “get it” 😉 but I love to think back and reminisce about the past. Maybe it’s a girl thing?

Eight years ago today we said “I Do!”

It was rainy and cold the whole week leading up to the Big Day. With a beach ceremony planned, I watched the weather reports like it was my job. Early in the week, the weather looked grim for Saturday. I hoped and prayed and begged and bargained to get a beautiful day, knowing our contingency rainy day plans for the ceremony weren’t that fabulous.

8 Years Ago Today

We got our amazing day!

after_the_kiss anz_0526_7

And one year ago today, weighed 145 pounds. Down 20 lbs from the start of the year and was two weeks in to calorie counting, food journaling and learning my new way of eating. What do you mean calories really do count?? With just two weeks of calorie counting behind me I was down 6 lbs, busting through my usual 150’s plateau and getting further than I had in a long, long time! Talk about motivation to stick with it. When I first started to lose weight last year, I had to focus on exercise first. I had to get into the exercise groove and THEN I could take it to the next level and work on my diet. Don’t get me wrong, I made small changes to improve my eating habits; cutting out some processed foods, mindless snacking, excess sweets, junk, soda, juice…. but I still had a long way to go. Incorporating too many new changes into my life at once is overwhelming and not sustainable. By May of last year, regular exercise was now “normal”, and because of that, I was able to seriously take on the next challenge: my diet! Not “diet” as in, “I’m going on a diet”, but diet meaning: the way I want to eat and live in my day to day life from now on.

When I woke up this morning I wasn’t in the mood to do any sort of exercise. It was chilly and breezy outside. I had nothing planned. I didn’t have anything good to listen to on my iPod for a run or take with me to the gym. I knew though how good I would feel after I was done, so it was just a matter of figuring out what sounded appealing.

Then it occurred to me that what I really wanted was to stay home and be in my own family room with gal pal Jillian in mismatched workout clothes and greasy hair.

Feeling like I wanted to spend more than 27 minutes on a workout, I opted not to shred and did one of her newer, longer DVD’s, Banish Fat, Boost Metabolism. 50 minutes of grunting, sweating, cursing and mountain climbing and I was done, endorphins flowing and glad I had found something to do.

I was reminded this morning of why I try and plan my morning workouts the night before. If you fail to plan, you plan to fail! I heard Bob on The Biggest Loser say that in season 6 and I thought that was so good and so true. In the evenings as the day is winding down I check the weather for the next day, look at the long range forecast and take our plans for the week into consideration, so I can loosely plan runs for nicer mornings, the gym if it’s cold or rainy, working out at home if Zak has to leave earlier than usual for work or if we have somewhere to be first thing in the morning and I need more time to get the girls and myself ready.

After my work out I had a bowl of overnight oats I put together last night. 1/2 cup rolled oats, 1/2 cup vanilla soy milk and 1/4 cup of plain LF yogurt. Topped this morning with fresh organic strawberries, half a sliced banana, a tbsp of ground flax and a sprinkle of the granola I made yesterday.

banana_strawberry_overnight_oats_1

And just like exercise, having a healthy breakfast planned makes it easy to make the right choice and get the day off to a good start!

banana_strawberry_overnight_oats_ banana_strawberry_overnight_oats_2

When I took the recycling bins and garbage to the curb after breakfast and saw what a beautiful day it is already turning out to be, I was a little bummed that I didn’t run this morning. But now I’m already planning on and looking forward to a run tomorrow morning! Love how that works.

5 Responses

  1. Do you work out every day or do you have one day a week allotted to do nothing? Do you feel guilty when you can’t exercise one day that you had planned?

    You GO girl!!! 🙂 You amaze me!!!

  2. Last summer I was working out every day, but now I aim for 5 days a week, maybe 6 if the weather is too fabulous to pass up. I absolutely take one day off a week now. If something comes up and I can’t work out as planned, sometimes I feel guilty, sometimes I don’t. Depends on what happened or why. Today I would have felt guilty if I didn’t do anything due to lack of planning. If something unexpected comes up, or even an improtu rest day… taking a look at my tentative work out schedule and figuring out how I will rearrange things usually alleviates any guilt!

  3. Memory Lane…my favorite place…Ahhhh…I think it was the last time I wore a suit! (At least a “happy” suit, not a wake!). We got a great white stretch Lincoln limo and as the photo shows it was a crystal clear day on the sparkling sands of the Hamlin Riviera! It was a wonderful ceremony and and many smiles and tears of happiness were shared as we dined and wined. I recall the heaviness of my heart as you left for Dublin. I had my very private sadness, I knew how much I would miss you. Thankfully you got back just before the airports closed on 9/11/2001…Remember?? Love you both and oh… those GIRLS you gave us!! I have that black and white picture lower right, on my desk. Daddy-O

  4. Beautiful wedding pictures! Reminiscing is one of the best things we can do for ourselves, so I encourage you to do it all the more! 🙂

  5. Thanks Erin, that’s nice to know!

Leave a Reply

