Lentil Chili

After much cat herding, we made it out the door to run errands late morning. Lots of walking to burn off some energy. (Ava says: I already burned it all off!) She ain’t kidding!

She’s actually mid air here.  She gallops everywhere.

gallop

Post office, waste management place for more bags, bank, jewelry store for a new watch battery, library, home.

hip_t

Maxine, hailing a cab?  Nooo, she’s hoping to win a Hip T from Angela at Oh She Glows!

I think that shirt is size 18 months (she is now wearing 2T) but every time I set it aside to put away, she snags it out of the pile and demands to wear it this. second.

The rest of the day consisted of cooking, housework, more cooking, more housework.

For lunch I threw together some refried beans quesadillas! Spicy refried beans smeared into a flat out wrap, sliced tomatoes, corn and a little bit of white cheddar cheese. I also made some kale chips to use up the last of my bag of kale and for a little green on the side!

beans kale_chips_bean_quesadillas

2% Fage, salsa and avocado slices!

refried_bean_quesadillas

For dinner tonight, I made

Lentil Chili

1 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil
1/2 medium onion, diced
1/2 medium pepper, diced
2 cloves of garlic
1 1/2 c water
1 1/2 c vegetable broth
1/2 lb dry lentils, rinsed and drained
8 oz crushed tomatoes
1 Tbsp chili powder
1 tsp cumin
1 tsp oregano
ground red pepper if you like it spicy!
dash of salt if desired

A large sauce pan, saute onion, pepper and garlic in EVOO until soft.  Add water and broth and bring to a boil.  Add lentils.  Stir and cover.  Cook for 30 minutes on medium to low heat, stirring occasionally.

peppers_onions with_lentils

Add tomatoes and spices and cook an additional 30 minutes on low, or until lentils are soft.  Add a bit more water or broth if needed. Stir occasionally.

lentil_chili_1

lentil_chili_2

Could be good with avocado, greek yogurt, salsa… but since I had all those things with lunch I just ate it like this.

I often eat by myself, either before or after the girls (depending on their hunger levels) so that I can eat in peace without having to get up to refill drinks, get another fork/spoon, more ketchup. Zak works for a small software company and usually works well past the dinner hour, which means I’m typically on my own for dinner as well. Lentil chili waiting in the fridge for him when he gets home!

For dessert? This guy.

smile

But don’t be fooled. As soon as I took that pic I did this.

dont_be_fooled

And then I ate him.

3 Responses

  1. Another good recipe to put on my list of veg dishes to make, but I’m here to comment that the g’daughter pics are both great.

  2. umm…what is fage?

Leave a Reply

