AM Buzz

Stomach rumbling when I got up just after 5, I knew a pre-run snack was in order this morning.

A toasted Kashi Honey Oat waffle with a laughing cow wedge and a smear of organic strawberry jam!

prerunsnack

Turns out I wasn’t the only one who woke up early and hungry today.

max_2 max_3
max_4 ma_1

Zak wanted to leave for work early this morning so my planned longish run was cut short and instead I did quick three mile tempo run. I left the iPod at home so I could concentrate more closely on my pace, my breathing and how I was feeling.

I buzzed around the neighborhood for 3.05 miles in 21:47, making my pace 7:08/mile. Whenever I’m working hard to run fast I always think of Hal Higdon’s line: If you want to run fast, you have to run fast! Definitely faster than my typical average pace, but not quite sub-20 5K pace. I’m working on it!

Because my run was only 20 minutes and it’s been a little while since I’ve done any resistance work, I popped in my good friend Jillian and did Level 3 of the shred with 5 lb weights. I had to stop more than once though to fetch a certain someone a glass water, crackers, an apple, wipe a butt (not my own, thankyouverymuch) and I wondered what Jillian might say yell scream about having to press pause 4 times during the work out.

Cooled down and ready for my “real” breakfast, I whipped out my breakfast cookie with a secret ingredient today inspired by Holly’s breakfast yesterday!

breakfast_610

610_bfast_cookie

OK so it’s not really a secret. I threw in a tablespoon of shredded unsweetened coconut last night with my usual 1/2 cup of oats, ground flax seed, 1/2 mashed banana and a few splashes of unsweetened vanilla hemp milk. It was a nice addition to today’s breakfast cookie! I haven’t put coconut in oatmeal in a while so it was a fun new addition for this morning.

Breakfast is definitely my favorite meal of the day. I think the exercise induced endorphin buzz plays a role in feeling good in the morning and makes me happy → ♥ breakfast love

5 Responses

  1. Oh you are too cute 🙂

    I had a breakfast cookie this morning too – ironically, also with unsweeted shredded coconut!

    Way to work out that morning run! Have a good one!

  2. great job on the workout, even with the pauses 🙂 you are FAST!

    the coconut sounds great in the cookie – i may need to try that.

  3. I simply cannot bear how cute/adorable Maxine is!! How can YOU take it, Ali? You must not ever say “No”, how could you?

  4. What flavor Laughing Cow cheese do you spread on a sweet breakfast disc? and then cover with berry schmeer?

Leave a Reply

