Outtakes

I stopped at my favorite local farm stand today while out running errands and picked up some greeeens.

farm_stand_stash

Oh yeah, and some reds and blues too. And I’ll have you know that them there lettuce is both local AND organic yessiree!

I got a head start on my green intake for today while putting away groceries and putting together lunch. All while flipping through my new mag that arrived today.

cukes

Multitask much?

Lunch was a green smoothie made with spinach, half a banana, mango, tofu and hemp milk. Topped with homemade granola. I snagged the other rosemary roll (sorry honey!) and after it was toasted smeared half with a laughing cow wedge and added some lettuce and tomato.

lunch_626

“Good” is one way to describe this lunch. “Amazingly delicious and satisfying” is another.

The girls were with Aunt Ellen today so I carried my lunch up to my office and chained myself to my desk for the rest of the afternoon.

A head sized salad planned for dinner, I was motivated to come up with a new way to show that I enjoy eating salads as big as my head.

I don’t know what came over me. Maybe it was because my usual salad bowl was dirty and I was forced to put my giant salad on a dinner plate. The bottom of plate just felt so wide. So flat. So balanced.

salad_head

God I am such a dork.

No it didn’t fall I just do the strangest things sometimes.

And I don’t know about you, but one of my favorite parts of any movie are the outtakes.

This would be me, trying to take a picture without getting the reflection of the camera in the mirror, all while balancing a salad on my head, praying it didn’t come crashing to the floor and send me running to the phone to order a pizza.

outtake_1 outtake_4
outtake_2 outtake_3

But alas, my picture was captured and my salad survived. And doesn’t it figure that I ended up using the very first picture I took? Oh the risks I take!

Organic red leaf, tofu, cucumbers, dressing + rice vinegar. Conventional apples, tomatoes, mushrooms, feta cheese.

salad_626

I’ll admit that when I was dumping my salad tossed in Miso Ginger dressing onto the plate I was thinking “Damn, this is one huge salad. I wonder if I’ll really be able to eat this whole thing?”

mission_accomplished

Mission accomplished.

Not only did I eat the whole dang thing, I even had room for a little black and white too.

black_and_white

Now, not to jinx myself like I did two weeks ago, but I’m HOPING to do a group long run with a friend tomorrow morning, organized by one of the local running stores. We shall see.

5 Responses

  1. wow i love your eats – especially the GM and that tasty looking dessert 😀

  2. you daredevil you – the things we do for art!

  3. The fresh food finds look PERFECT! Mmmm! The salad on your head was hillarious but the OUTTAKES were priceless!! You are too funny!
    -A

  4. Love the salad on your head! 🙂

    The rosemary roll looks and sounds too good! I haven’t bought bread in a while; it’s about time! I think I’ll get some at the Farmers’ Market this weekend. Have a great weekend!

  5. haha – the outtakes are TOTALLY the best part. you’ve got killer balance :).

    that produce from your local farm looks bangin – seriously. i need to hit up the farmers market this weekend for the some of that. good luck on your run dear – work it out!

Leave a Reply

