Picnic Bowling

So today’s work picnic was rained out and the contingency plans were to go BOWLING.

We rocked our shoes.

ava_shoes my_shoes

There’s no place like home… there’s no place like home…

Since our party was moved to the bowling alley, Zak said not to bring our dish to pass. Before we left I ate some of the hummus and veggies I’d planned to bring figuring there probably weren’t going to be many healthy options at the bowling alley, and packed a snack too.

pizza_beer

Good call.

While I of course have nothing against a party with pizza and beer, I’d just much rather eat GOOD pizza, not bowling alley pizza. I was happy to pass on this and was also happy I ate something before we left. I did however let the girls have their fill of cheese pizza.

pizza_girls

And cupcakes too.

Ava Cupcake Max Cupcake

I enjoyed my organic pink lady and spicy!! Cocoa Mole Larabar.

larabar_apple

We had a blast bowling with Zak’s coworkers and their families. Ava loved it!

ava_loved_it

Max did a lot of this.

monkey_max

Ready… Set…

ready bowl

Bowl?

still_standing

Zak got a huge kick out of the fact that the frame that he photographed was a gutter ball.

And then he took his own self portrait as he got ready to bowl.

zak_self_portrait

Damn straight that one’s going up sucka!

On the way to the bowling alley we made a quick stop to pick up my new book that was waiting for me at the library!

raw_food

The Raw Food Detox Diet by Natalia Rose

After the first three pages I could already say I’m convinced. I could NOT. GET. ENOUGH. of what I was reading. I couldn’t read it fast enough. I am hooked.

I’ve been slowly getting on the raw food band wagon thanks to blogland. I’m totally excited about making some of these changes and moving toward a more raw diet and paying closer attention to food combining. I’ve never been skeptical that this the right way to eat, it just seems so overwhelming and like a lot to learn. I feel like I’m in place now though where I’m ready move forward and give it a whirl. I can’t wait to dive further into the book and learn more on this way of eating.

In the spirit of moving in this direction, I ran home and made some guac to smear on toasted Ezekiel bread that’s been in the freezer for months and some left over split pea soup.

guac withpeasoup

And then these guys for dessert. Two dates and four little squares of 70% Green and Black with cashew butter.

dates

It was totally yummy and satisfying! But it wasn’t until AFTER dinner that I read you aren’t supposed to combine nuts and avocados. DOH!

And now? It’s been almost 4 hours since dinner and I have HEART BURN!! I can’t even remember the last time I had heart burn. I’m not sure what I did wrong here, if anything? It’s not like these are things I wouldn’t ordinarily eat.

Maybe it was the raw onions and garlic in the guacamole? But I normally eat raw onions with no problems.

I didn’t drink any water or seltzer with dinner tonight like I usually do. Maybe that was it?

So many questions. I’ve got a lot to learn and am totally psyched about it!

10 Responses

  1. I love bowling! I’m so impressed your kids didn’t do bumper bowling. Way to go!!!

    • LOL, there are bumpers there for the kids, they are just different and hard to see.

      Funny though, Zak let Ava bowl a frame for him in a regular lane and wouldn’t you believe she bowled a STRIKE!? Everyone clapped and cheered and she beamed with pride. It was totally awesome.

  2. Sounds like a fun day of bowling. And good call to eat something beforehand and to bring some snacks! 🙂

    I’ve read about The Raw Food Detox Diet on several blogs and really want to read it this summer. I’m not sure yet how much of it I’ll be able to incorporate into my life, but eating more raw foods is definitely something I want to do.

  3. Ahh! I haven’t gone bowling on forever, that looks like so much fun! 😀

    A big UGH to the heartburn! I feel your pain. I’ve had random problems with it myself, and it comes up out of nowhere with no good explanation. I figure having it once in a while is more of a (literal) pain then anything else, but if it starts becoming more frequent, I’m going to have to look into how I can control it a bit better. :-/

  4. Wow, I’ll be interested to read your progress on the raw food thing. I don’t think it could ever be for me, but never say never, right?

  5. I may look for that book. I checked out Ani Phyo’s raw cookbook but couldn’t get into it. Maybe if I read more information.

    The party looks fun. I totally would have avoided that pizza!

  6. I should have known when you mentioned that you look at everything as an opportunity to write about, you’d have a post up about the bowling event 🙂

    Here’s the CSA we joined this year. It’s been great and you haven’t missed that many weeks if you and Zak still want to join.

    http://www.windymeadowfarms.com/

    We just had a fantastic salad with nothing but arugula, lettuce, and some cucumbers. You don’t even need to put that much crap in the salads since the greens are so good!

  7. maybe you have heartburn because you mixed nuts and avocado.

    I have never doubted raw foods either but it’s so expensive and sometimes convenience wins over, but I think some is better than none!

  8. Cocoa Mole Larabar?!?!? I haven’t seen that one! Wow…. I bet it was awesome! I recently made Mole and now I’m obsessed!! Also, I had avocado on toast a while back and LOVED it. Then I forgot about it. Thanks for reminding me! I put hot sauce on the avocado and it ROCKED! Not sure if that’s Raw Compliant but it tasted GREAT! Maybe you could try some raw jalapeno….
    -A

    • I totally thought of you when I bought this one, and then again when I ate it and realized it was spicy!! Oooooo Mole sauce is spiiiccyyyy riiiiggghhhtt

Leave a Reply

