Rainbow Salad

I felt hungry sort of soon after breakfast this morning, so I opted for a glass of green “juice”. This is about as juicy as I can get with a the blender. Maybe I’ll spring for a juicer in the future, but right now my fun money stash has dwindled to nothing after my new camera purchase last week.

Just a few handfuls of spinach, a gala apple and a few splashes of almond milk into the blender.

green_juice

We spent the day at home and part of the afternoon playing outside and working in the yard and garden.

garden

The foundation of our garden is our composted soil. We compost all fruit and vegetable scraps, as well as paper napkins and paper towels, tea bags, coffee filters and grounds too. It makes for amazing soil and our veggies grow gangbusters, but the weeds do too! We very often find volunteers among the weeds. I can’t tell you how many tomato plant “weeds” I pulled out today!

I love to see my morning glories starting to climb!

morning_glories

Ava’s sunflower that grew from a seedling is starting to open. This plant sat on our kitchen window sill all spring and we watched it grow. We transplanted it into the flower bed and we are all enjoying the amazing, beautiful flower it has turned into. Reminds me of two other amazing little seedlings we’ve watched grow in this house. (Corny!)

sunflower_2 sunflower_1

I spent a lot of time in the kitchen today too. Cutting up watermelon, cantaloupe and this new guy, an “Orange Flesh Melon”.

orange_flesh_melon

I also attempted to make Gena’s Raw Almondaise but it turned out pretty thin, not thick like hers appears to be.

I had made some alterations based on other almondaise recipes I looked at. I started yesterday by soaking 1 cup of raw almonds for about 12 hours. Today I combined the almonds with 1 cup of water and about 2 Tbsp of Braggs Amino Acid and 1/4 c of lemon juice into the food processor and streamed in about a cup of canola oil. It never thickened up and I was left with something about the consistency of salad dressing.

almond_dressing

No big deal, it tasted great so we rolled with it.

For dinner I diced up a rainbow of colors.

rainbow_salad

Shredded red cabbage, zucchini, carrots and diced red pepper, tossed in my almond dressing.

dinner_plate

Served in a bed of mixed greens and topped with a sprinkle of raw sunflower seeds, with a side of steamed cauliflower.

mon_dinner

I think I burned 100 calories eating dinner tonight. I told Zak my jaw was SORE from all the chewing I did!

And a couple of natures chewy cookies while I cleaned up.

natures_cookie

The gang has just come in from outside, time to get my weeds into bed.

7 Responses

  1. Awesome salad!

    And I love the sunflower; it’s so great to watch things grow… šŸ™‚

  2. Ohhh, more beautiful pictures of your garden…..so tranquill!

    Ok, gotta look for some of those dates….yummo!

  3. Love that rainbow of colors…looks delicious!!

    I had no idea you could compost tea bags!!! I’ll be adding that to my compast now too…:-)

  4. ohhh can’t wait to see how your garden grows! and that salad looked AMAZING. that is def a recipe i think i might need to recreate soon!

    happy tuesday!

  5. That salad looks amazing; I’m looking forward to seeing your garden grow.
    Have a great day.

    Best,

    Amie

  6. what a beautiful salad! i’m so impressed you chew thoroughly.

  7. LOVE that rainbow salad!! They do say to eat the colors of the rainbow…!

Leave a Reply

