Life’s a Beach

My fruit and juice breakfast wore off by about 10:30, so I made a bowl of banana and chocolate oatbran before we headed out on today’s adventure.

choc_oatbran

Cooked on the stove with water and chocolate almond milk and cocoa powder. Topped with sliced banana, almond butter and coconut.

I threw a bunch of food into our lunch bag and off we went to meet some friends at the beach.

We played in the water.

ava_water

We played in the sand.

max_sand

I’m pretty sure taking a break for lunch was my idea.

Bucket’o PB&J for A&M.

bucketopbj

The last of the Chana Masala with a side of freshly picked wedgie for me.

left_over_chana

My little lunch time buddy.

lunch_buddy

Ava was too busy disrupting resting seagulls to stop and eat. Max and I enjoyed the show.

disturbed_seagulls

But pretty soon Maxine couldn’t resist the lure of bird chasing either.

chased_seagulls

Later we snacked on Newman’s Own Organics pretzels that we’d brought to share.

mighty_pretz

And apples with a view.

apple_with_a_view

I noshed on this Jocalat Chocolate Mint Larabar too. It was the first time I had this kind.

jocalot

It was pretty good, but left a weird aftertaste in my mouth. I think I’ll probably pass on this one next time but I was glad I tried it.

After a full day of fun in the sun, we had no choice but to stop at a sweet little country store for ice cream on the way home.

max_ice_cream ava_ice_cream

I passed on ice cream for myself (knowing full well that I would – and did – eat their left overs) and hit the dried fruit stand instead.

Of course I picked up a stash of my new fav, dried apples.

dried_fruit

And what are those green disks, you ask? Why they’re dried kiwi!

kiwi

They taste like…. nothing. I’m not kidding. They have NO taste. They are a little sweet and the texture is appealing but besides that it’s like eating slightly sweet and chewy dried air.

Dinner tonight was a head sized salad and broccamoli smeared on toasted Ezekiel sesame bread.

wed_dinner

It would appear to be totally caked on… and oh yes, it was. But the steamed broccoli makes up a lot of the volume so I piled it on and didn’t think twice.

broc

I did however, think twice about dessert.

carmel_cups

I had one two of these babies.

not_one_cup yes_two_green

Holy decadent! They come three to a package, 160 cals for the kit and caboodle. (I ate one yesterday!) I think the first person I heard talk about these was Jillian on her radio show *sniff sniff* so I ate these tonight in her honor.

And now the sun (and kids) have gone to bed and so must I.

6 Responses

  1. What a beautiful day! 🙂

  2. What a fun day! Your girls chasing the seagulls reminds me of my brother and me chasing the pigeons when we were younger. Haha!

  3. aw that stinks about the kiwi – they looks so pretty!!! did they have sugar addded?

  4. Thanks for your salute to my farewell this morning. But seriously, what is up with Jillian?! I can’t live without the woman, let alone workout without her!!!

  5. You captured so much FUN in the photos! They make me want to be a kid again…buckets of pb&j + chasing seagulls at the beach sounds like my idea of a perfect day! 😀 What a blast!!

  6. Brocomoli…sounds delish! And a beach day with your lil punkins!!!! what could be better???

    I get to be a stay home Mamma in 932 more days…but I am not counting!

    good times! 🙂

Leave a Reply

