Salad Adventures and Lessons in Hummus

So I know what you’re thinking. Another boring salad for lunch. Well not today’s my friends. Today, salad went on an adventure.

First, salad wanted to know how tall it was. So we got out the measuring tape.

How Big is Salad?

How big is salad?

Soooo big!

Soooo big!

Then, salad wanted to ride on the rocking horse. I didn’t see any reason NOT to so off we went.

Rocking Horse

Next, salad wanted to play the drum. OK salad, but just for a minute.

Play Drums

Salad, still feeling a little musical, wanted to play the keyboard. Salad totally rocked some funky beats.

Play Piano

Then salad needed to make a few calls. I waited patiently. Salad has excellent telephone manners.

Chatting on the Phone

Then salad was feeling sleepy and it was time for a nap. Shhh. Salad is sleeping.

Time for a Nap

I waited for salad to fall asleep. And then I ate him.

In other news, I made hummus today!

When I make hummus, I might used canned garbanzo beans, and sometimes I have more time and patience and I cook my own.

I use to be very intimated by cooking my own beans, but then I slapped myself a few times and said shut up they are just beans get over it.

There are two methods. Patient and Impatient

The Patient Method: Soak dried beans completely covered water for 8 hours. The beans are going to expand so you’ll want to add enough water so that the water level is a few inches higher than the beans. 8 hours later, *drain and rinse, fill pan with fresh water, add beans and bring to a boil. Reduce to simmer for about an hour and you’re ready to rock.

The Impatient Method: Put dried beans in a pan with enough water to cover and bring to a boil. Cook for 5 minutes and remove from heat. Let beans soak for about an hour, follow from * in The Patient Method above.

And for the record, The Extremely Impatient Method: use canned beans.

I cooked half a 16 oz bag of garbanzos for this batch using the Patient Method. I made garlic hummus today with cooked garbanzos, garlic, canola, tahini and salt.

Make Hummus

I’ve made hummus so many times now my food processor has basically paid for itself. I do not measure anything, so these are estimates.

2 – 2 1/2 cups of cooked garbanzo beans, whatever was made from the 8 oz of dried beans.
1 teaspoon of tahini. I’ve learned that you only need a little tahini! Too much and it tastes weird to me.
4 cloves of garlic. I use jarred minced garlic in water, probably 1 Tbsp which = 4 cloves.
Canola oil, probably 2 or 3 Tablespoons. Maybe more. The more oil you add the creamier it will be.
Dash of sea salt.

If I use canned beans I drain most of the liquid but not all, leaving maybe 15 – 10%. This adds to the creaminess factor too.

Everything in the food processor and give a spin.

Let's Rock

Whoops! Almost forgot! The juice from half a lemon. I use to buy lemon juice in the little plastic lemon jug you can find in the produce section, but now that green lemonade is a staple in our lives I always have fresh lemons on hand. I like it.

Almost Forgot

And now it’s time to eat. Just in time for a snack too! What a coincidence!

So Pretty

I spent the afternoon working around the house. Productivity was high today! Probably because Aunt Ellen took the girls to the playground for a couple hours and gave me a chance to get caught up on life. But before I knew it, it was dinner time and I hadn’t made anything but hummus.

Having resisted the urge to grocery shop today I was left with the bare bones of produce and made a very simple but very yummy vegetable sandwich. Said sandwich involved two slices of toasted sesame Ezekiel bread, mustard, lettuce and roasted red pepper from a jar. On the side was unpictured carrots and hummus. If you are wondering what it looked like, please scroll up.

Dinner Sandwich

OK, just wanted to make sure you got a good dose of ridiculousness tonight. If you have forgotten the ridiculousness of this post already, please scroll up.

17 Responses

  1. Love this post…you completely made me smile. πŸ˜€

    Oh, and I’m dying to know…is tahini an absolutely *necessary* ingredient in order to make hummus? Because I’d love to try some homemade hummus very soon, but I don’t have any tahini in the house. I know I should just break down and buy some, but I really want to know what it does for the hummus first before I “invest” in it…haha. πŸ˜€

    All your eats look *ridiculously* amazing, by the way. πŸ˜€

  2. hahahahahaha, I always can count on you for a good laugh.

    Sneaky, waiting for salad to fall asleep and then making your move. πŸ˜‰

  3. Thanks for making me smile, once again. Your silliness matches mine, despite the fact that I don’t reveal it on the bloggie and I love it!!!

  4. Hi Alison,

    So glad you waited for the salad to fall asleep before you ate him – you are too funny!!!

    Thanks for the hummus recipe. I’m still on the search for the perfect one for me. Will try this when the one in the fridge is finished.

    Libby

  5. Oh my goodness – The Amazing Adventures of Mr. Salad made me laugh out loud!

    The hummus looks really good! My friend Lara at Thinspired did a hummus post today too (from a recipe I gave her) and she forgot the oil. We had a laugh over it!

  6. You never dissapoint in the salad department girl! i missed mine today 😦 i was very sad….

    an A+ on this hummus. I have beans just waiting to be transformed! yippie!

    nighty dear!

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  7. Any mom who lets her salad play musical instruments is undoubtedly a fun mom. Your girls must have so much fun!

  8. Ok, let me just say, I’m glad that after a long day of school work and feeling like my head is going to explode, I can come read your post and see your salad traveling around your house. I love it! You’re so great!! Send that salad on a trip to Albany!

  9. Cute salad story and it’s a huge one, I love big filling salads!
    I haven’t been brave enough to make my own hummus, but I did buy garbanzo beans and did just find my mini food processor, thanks for the recipe and tips!

  10. How come Hummus didn’t get to play drums or ride the pony?

    got something against beans that think they’re peas?

    sheez

    and now I need to make some … i’ll just use the super impatient method thank you very much….

    I’m off to Trader Joe’s to BUY some!

    hehehehehe
    LOVE IT

  11. hahahaha alison ohh you never ever fail at plastering a grin on my face. sneaky girl, eating mister salad when he was down for the count. i love your hummus. i cant taste it but i can tell by the looks of it that it is real, real amazing.

  12. […] just start typing random jibber jabber. maybe one of these days i will whip out a clever post like alison’s shenanigans with a salad or holly’s ABCs.. but for now, you get my random ramblings about pies and spiders. lucky […]

  13. I love salad stories. πŸ˜€ Very cute.
    Ahhh, your hummus looks so creamy!!!
    So going to make my own hummus soon, thanks for the recipe. I have tons of roasted garlic left over from the BBQ which I’ll put to good use. I’m afraid I’ll be using the Very Impatient method though. πŸ˜›

  14. Love this. You made me snort.

    I made hummus yesterday, too! YAY hummus. My impatient method is to do a quick soak, then boil the crap out of them for a few hours and voila. I was going to use the pressure cooker, but I am terrified of the pressure cooker.

  15. You’re a nut! (haha) Your post cracked me up. I could just picture you walking around the house with your salad plate taking pictures. (haha)

  16. love you soul blog sista.

    ummm i still need to make that cinnamon hummus you featured oh so long ago. first, i need to find a cheapo food processor. any ideas?

    much love! happy friday!

  17. Hehe! Loved your salad adventure πŸ™‚

Leave a comment