More Jillian

Zak wanted to swim laps at the pool this morning, so that means I was left to my own devices at home while Thing 1 and Thing 2 slept.

Jillian to the rescue!

no_more_trouble

I’ve had No More Trouble Zones along with Banish Fat, Boost Metabolism since April but today was the first time I’ve done this one. I got them just as the weather was getting nicer and the days were getting longer, which meant moving my exercise routines outside.

These DVD’s are longer than 30 Day Shred, so they are great when I have more time to spend but have to stay home for one reason or another. I’m always a bit reluctant to try a new exercise video because:

1. I’m afraid it won’t be that great
2. It will be a waste of time/wasted workout

But hello?

1. I love her other DVD’s
2. It’s Jillian for crying out loud!

Banish Fat, Boost Metabolism is mainly cardio where No More Trouble Zones is resistance training. I’ve hesitated to try No More Trouble Zones because I was afraid I wouldn’t work up a sweat doing only resistance work.

hahahahahahahahah

Can you hear me laughing at myself from here?

Needless to say, this DVD kicked my ass for 50 minutes straight. I heart Jillian and her ability to make me sweat buckets in my own living room with 3 lb and 5 lb weights.

After I worked on my Trouble Zones I got to work on my overnight oats. The usual: a 1/2 c rolled oats soaked in 1/4 c LF Stonyfield Farms vanilla yogurt and 1/2 c of unsweetened vanilla hemp milk soaked overnight. (You can use any milk/yogurt combos, I’m just into hemp milk these days…)

Topped this morning with ground flax and the blueberries and strawberries I snagged from yesterdays farm stand. Plus some walnuts too.

oats

I’m guessing these berries are not organically grown, but then again I didn’t ask so who knows. I always try to buy organic strawberries because they are part of the Dirty Dozen. At least they were locally grown, and both were unbelievably sweet and full of flavor! πŸ˜€

Breakfast was enjoyed at my desk today while watching Jillian’s Behind the Scene’s video at Self.com! Love her! πŸ˜‰

7 Responses

  1. I love Jillian too!!! She rocks!! Oh and so doesn your breakfast! Yum!
    -A

  2. I have read good things about “No More Trouble Zones.” I’ll have to try it! I love finding good DVDs that I can do at home while the toddler naps. πŸ™‚

  3. I tried overnight oats this morning. I love the consistency of them so I’m going to make more for sure. The only thing is, I used plain, lowfat yogurt instead of vanilla. A little tangy for my taste (my fault, not yours!). I’m going to get some vanilla yogurt and try these again. I love the chocolate flavor! I’m glad you posted about them. I think I may have found a new favorite breakfast πŸ˜€

    And thanks for the review on the workout DVD’s. I never know which ones to buy because not all of them are that great! Jillian’s 30 day shred pretty much kicked my ass on level 1. Lol!

    • Elizabeth yes, when I make overnights oats I definitely have to use a sweet yogurt if I’m not using sweet milk! (Like vanilla soy, etc). I’ve made the same mistake. I’m so glad you liked it though and will try again! πŸ˜€

  4. Yeah, between organic and locally grown – it can be a tough call sometimes!

  5. Don’t you just love Jillian? I need to get that DVD…:D

  6. I miss Jillian workouts. Maybe I should skip listening to her on the elliptical and go back to the DVDs. Not sure if I’m ready for the ass kicking.

Leave a comment