More Chocolate Cake!

Tonight we had a family and friends cookout at Zak’s mom’s house, a fun excuse to get together and hang out and EAT!

I brought hummus and a tossed salad. I wanted to try something new for hummus so I broke out a packet of Simple Organic Southwest Taco seasoning I had in the cupboard. I swapped out lemon juice for lime juice, everything else was the usual, i.e., canola and tahini. It made for a fun, different combo of flavors!

taco_seasoning

I made a double batch. One to keep and one to share!

mexican_hummus

While I was cooking, I prepped and made some things for the week too.

A batch of homemade granola since I’m OUT!

granola_1 granola_2

And because I had the food processor out for making hummus, I rinsed the bowl and used the shredder attachment to shred carrots for the tossed salad and some extra to use later this week too.

carrots

Last but not least, a green monster (x2!) for lunch topped with fresh granola. Yummo. x2!

green_monster_lunch

I cooked and prepped for a few hours late morning then had a meeting this afternoon. Once I got home we threw the kids in the car and headed off to Kath’s house. A little photo summary of the highlights of our evening. 😀

company

ambiance Ambiance! Wild flowers from around Kath’s yard.
Veggie and hummus plate. veggie_hummus_plate
tree_arms Ava said, “Look! I can make the tree have arms!”
Mexican Hummus on a Guiltless Gourmet baked blue tortilla chip. hummus_chip
salad_burger_pasta Veggie burger, tossed salad and pasta salad.
MORE CHOCOLATE CAKE!! 😉 best_part
more_choc_cake The fabulous chocolate cake Zak’s aunt Ellen
brought was definitely the highlight
of the meal!
Cake was enjoyed by all. 😀 max_cake

Good company and good food!

All Star Breakfast

I was not really in the mood to run this morning. I was in the mood yesterday morning! But some how I managed to get my stuff on and get out the door to see how far I would go. This is really a big trick that I pull on myself because I say: “if you want to turn around and go back after the first mile, you can” But the first mile is always the toughest and once I’m through that first mile I’m in the groove. I fall for it every time.

I didn’t know how far I was going to go. I had planned to do 9 yesterday, but wasn’t feeling it today. I got to the point where I would turn to do 5 and kept going. I got to my point where I turn for 7 and still kept going. I did a new route that I thought was going to be 9 but ended up being only 8 that I did in just over an hour. And now I’m high as a kite on my daily endorphin rush.

When I got home the house was quiet except for some slight chattering by Maxine, still in bed. She came out into the hallway unaware I was here in my office and I got to listen to the ponies discuss who was going to jump down the stairs first.

playing_ponies

Busted!

turning busted

All the ponies had their turn and it was then on to breakfast.

ponies_4

But first a quick stop with the camera at the kid height mirror in the hallway, of course.

mirror

Maxine and I both choose Heart to Heart, since I didn’t prepare any oatmeal creation last night and have not been in a hot breakfast kind of mood these days.

flowers_cereal

Mine was a layered breakfast mess with 2% Fage at the bottom, topped with ground flax, then H2H, sliced bananas and a drizzle of almond butter. Unsweetened vanilla hemp milk was my cereal fluid of choice.

breakfast_614

My All Star Breakfast!

all_star

The rest of the family is up now, off I go.