Kitty Death Wish

I wanted Zak to try the salad I made yesterday, so I made it for him this morning to take with him to work and saved myself a portion to have for lunch again today.

78_lunch

With some liquid salad on the side.

green_juice

Liquid salad. Sounds like I’ve had my jaw wired shut.

A couple handfuls of spinach and an entire cucumber with some almond milk into the blender. Basically green juice with all the pulp.

And to think I use to hate a little bit of pulp in orange juice.

My dad showed up at the house after lunch and we followed him the yacht club where he’s a member and part of a sailboat racing crew. We got to check out the boat he sails on and the rest of the club too.

grandfather_and_ava

jump_ava

anchor

The rest of afternoon looked a lot like this.

big_pool

a_lot_like_this

little_pool

Boy, sometimes being a stay at home mom really wears on ya.

Grandfather treated the girlies to some fries.

fries

Mama had a couple too. 😉

We got home just in time for me to talk the cat off the ledge.

cat_death_wish

DON’T DO IT!

Hungry and ready for a snack, I opted for some fruit and like a total heathen ate cantaloupe and watermelon straight from the container.

cantaloupe watermelon

I prepped dinner and got to work on these ginormous portabello mushrooms.

portabellas

(The skin is peeled off the mushroom on the left.)

I cut up the mushroom caps into cubes and soaked for about an hour in a marinade (from the Raw Food Detox Diet)

1/4 c balsamic vinegar
3 Tbsp olive oil
3 Tbsp pure maple syrup
S&P

marinated

Served with steamed asparagus tips, sliced tomato and toasted sesame Ezekiel bread.

dinner

I laid the tomato on my bread squares and made mini sandwiches with the marinated mushrooms piled on top.

mini_sandwich

This dinner was so good, and so different! I’ve had plenty of portabello burgers in my day but these just seemed so MEATY when we ate them this way.

I’m totally enjoying the challenge of finding new ways to prepare food. This is definitely not something I could have seen myself preparing if I wasn’t trying to eat more raw meals.

And dessert with a little review.

choc_book

Time to wrap this up and make sure the cat isn’t sitting in the middle of the road again.

Wednesday Ride

I was excited to get up and go for a long bike ride this morning. I love running but riding is great too. I love how much farther I can go in less time, riding through town and through the neighborhoods in the early morning hours when it’s quiet and there’s hardly any traffic. In just under an hour I managed to go 15 miles.

Before I left on my ride I finished up the last of the cut up watermelon, so I spent some time this morning prepping more melon among other fruits and veggies.

morning_melon

Once I noticed I was hungry again I dove in my overnight oats. Rolled oats, sliced almonds, chopped dates, ground flax and coconut soaked overnight in almond milk.

78oats

My dad is off this week and we’ve got plans to meet up with him this afternoon for some fun. After a low key day around the house yesterday it will be nice to get out and do something today.