Zoo Day

After my physics review this morning, I ate my chocolate breakfast cookie in my underwear whilst running around the house like a mad woman trying to get kids dressed, lunches packed and get us out the door on time to meet my girlfriend Sharon and her gang.

That’s quite a picture I just painted. And one long sentence too.

choc_cookie

We made it to the zoo dressed and only 5 minutes late!

We checked out our rhino pal friends.

Max Rhino

Watched a bird show.

Watching Bird Show

Yes Maxine, do you have a question?

I Saw it Too!

Splashed in the river and took a lunch break.

Playin'

PB&J for the little gals, tossed salad for the big gal. Red leaf, green leaf, boston bibb, tomatoes, raw corn and avocado with miso dressing.

salad_lunch

And the ever elusive Peanut Butter Cookie Larabar that I FINALLY found. I swear I feel like I’ve been on a scavenger hunt looking for this flavor for the past few months.

pb_cookie_larabar

It did not disappoint.

We waited for sea lions.

Waiting

(Note the change of clothes A LA splashing river.)

SCORE!

There He Is!

Watched a monkey lick the window.

Monkey Lick

Can’t say I haven’t done the same thing to the bakery case.

More Monkies

And last but not least, the elephants.

Elephants

Two Three very tired girls.

Tonight for dinner I made portobello mushroom burgers and used the other half of my kabocha to make fries with. Sprinkled with cinnamon and baked at 425 for about 40 minutes. The heels of an Ezekiel loaf made the perfect burger bun!

portobello kocbacha_fries

After a full day in the sun and lots of walking, tonight would have been a night I would have been tempted to eat a bowl of cereal and yogurt and chocolate chips for dinner. Nothing wrong with that, but for me it would have set me up for wanting MORE cereal and yogurt or some other sugary foods.

Instead of having to deal with resisting a sugar and snack craving for the rest of the night, it was much easier to have some “rules” to stick to. Even if it was just food combining rules and my effort to avoid processed carbs, it was nice to have some guidance that help me stay the course and stick with unprocessed foods. It almost feels like a crutch of sorts, but for now it’s ok.

After nearly two weeks of eating more raw meals, and almost nothing processed, my cravings for sugary, carby foods is quite noticeably diminished and I want it to stay that way.

The Laws of Physics

Today I am thankful for the Laws of Physics.

Centrifugal Force for making my green juice.

thurs_green_juice

And cleaning my lettuce.

salad_spinner washed_greens

I am also thankful for the Gravitational Pull on the Earth.

It allowed me to do 40 minutes of yoga.

3 sets of push ups: 20, 10, 20.

Plank for 2 minutes. I spent the last 15 seconds cursing the Law of Gravity. And the Law of Shaking Arms too.

Centrifugal Force was applied again to make juice for Zak.

beet_juice

I’m also thankful for the Law of Attraction that will keep him from abandoning me and our two small children when I present him with BEET JUICE.

The Law of Green Juice is a pretty amazing law in and of itself. It’s been nearly 3 HOURS since my glass and I’m just starting to feel hungry. Well slap my ass and call me Einstein.

And now we are feeling the Gravitational Pull of the zoo… can’t. resist. must. see. elephants.