Solid Food Returns

I set out for a hot, humid, sunny, ass sweaty run shortly after 12:00. Someone cuff me in the head and remind me why heading out for a run smack dab in the middle of a hot summer day is not the brightest idea I’ve ever had.

It was HOT! And HUMID! And did I mention I was sweaty?

I couldn’t decide how far I was going to go. I knew I wanted today to be a longer run though. I thought about 8 miles. I thought about stopping at the house after 7 for a drink and a little fuel and going out for 3 more. But once I got back after 7 miles that was it. I was done. I ran a comfortable pace and it took me an hour exactly.

I needed something cold and sweet and juicy – STAT.

grapes

Organic grapes (YAY) with seeds (NAY). That’ll teach me to read labels.

After my grape buzz wore off I made lunch and plopped myself down on the floor in the living room to watch more of Twilight. I started it last night but fell asleep on the couch. It was midnight crying out loud. I’m a totally pansy when it comes to staying up late.

For my carpet picnic: fresh made guac (avocado, diced tomato, minced garlic, salt and lemon) on toasted Ezekiel bread and a side of steamed broccoli and cauliflower with some parm on top.

carpet_picnic

And a couple squares of Newman’s Own Organics Chocolate.

chocolate_twilight

After lunch came house work and more house work. Then snack time.

Dried fruit and more dried fruit. With almond butter.

dried_fruit_1 dried_fruit_2

The girls came home and I had no idea what I wanted for dinner. Since I’m solo and the girls had already eaten with Ellen, I whipped up one of my favorite salad concoctions.

mondo_salad

Organic red leaf and green leaf lettuce, a chopped gala apple, raw cashews, Newman’s Own Organic dried cranberries, extra firm tofu chunks tossed in Organicville Ginger Miso dressing.

I wanted a little something sweet to “round out” the night… but has anyone seen my glasses??

cookie_glasses

Are you picking up on the subliminal message with my left hand there?

Also take note of the little hand on the right. I had to surrender my glasses and go back and fetch myself two more.

fri_two_cookies

I’m surprisingly satisfied on two cookies and am not feeling the need to go back and ransack the package for more. I was a little nervous having cookies in the house but so far so good. It’s much easier to resist them when they are on the shelf in the grocery store so that’s where I prefer to leave them.

I still haven’t finished my movie. Maybe I can get Thing 1 and Thing 2 into bed early here and finish it up before the TV turns into a pumpkin. Or something.

Liquid Diet

The schedule is a little thrown off with Zakattack not here to stay with the girls while I run, ride or otherwise escape first thing in the morning. My run for today has been pushed back a couple of hours.

I started the morning out right with a glass of green lemonade, a la Natalia Rose.

I stocked up on ginger the last time I was at the grocery store. Considering I only use an inch or two at a time, I think this ginger tree should last me a while, no?

friday_green_juice

Today’s wonder of wonders contained the last of my romaine, a couple handfuls of spinach, an entire cucumber, an apple (with a bite out it – thank you Maxine), a lemon and two inches of ginger.

The girls have gone with Aunt Ellen for a fun filled day while I get some work done around here. And run.

Once they were on their way I decided on oats for breakfast, but I never put anything together last night so it wasn’t going to be in overnight form. I wasn’t feeling very stove-like this morning either.

So I settled on an oatmeal smoothie. I was pretty sure I saw Kath do this a while back.

almond_butter

I used an entire banana, a couple chunks of frozen banana, unsweetened vanilla hemp milk, ground flax, raw almond butter and rolled oats. Basically everything I would use to make oatmeal but thrown into the blender instead of a bowl. I measured nothing.

All gone.

all_gone

Wow, it’s barely 10 and I’ve already used two straws today. And I’ve yet to chew a thing. I guess I gave my teeth the morning off.