Curried Lentil Burgers

My day was quite productive! Mainly due to this:

morning_nap

My poor honey was still feeling pretty puny this morning, she got up only to come downstairs and sleep all morning.

Maxine enjoyed her freedom and ruled the roost!

ruled_the_root

After my productive morning, I got down to the business of dinner. At lunch time.

I told Zak I was going to make lentil burgers for dinner tonight. I make homemade veggie burgers all the time but have yet to try them with lentils. He said curry might be good in them, so I went with it!

In fact, I thought curried lentil burgers sounded so good I made it for myself for lunch! I was simply doing my part to protect Zak, just in case it didn’t turn out right. 😉 I cooked up 1 cup of dried brown lentils in 2 1/2 cups of water for about 45 minutes.

I only used about half of the lentils this made, maybe 2 cups? Mixed with (approx):

1 cup of tomato sauce
1 Tbsp curry powder
1/2 c oatbran (I would have used whole wheat flour but I’m out!)
1 c cooked corn

lentil_burger_mix + patty =

624_lunch

Curried lentil burger with provolone, pickles, mustard, lettuce and tomato and with a side of steamed broccoli, cauliflower, carrots and mushrooms, topped with a bit of parm.

LOVED it!

Snack time today were theYoBaby popsicles I made yesterday! Holy YoBabies this ROCKED! Who needs ice cream?

OK OK let’s not get ahead of ourselves here. I’m not giving up ice cream for yogurt popsicles. But it was still a great snack.

yo_baby_popcicle blueberry_snacl

And some YoBluebabies too.

Zak made it home in time to join us for dinner. Miracles do happen.

I whipped him up a burger with plenty of left over burger goop, and a couple of salads too. This would be Zak trying to persuade Ava (who perked up around lunch time) to come out and eat with us and the bees wouldn’t sting her if she didn’t bother them.

dinner624

And that’s Maxine reaching for the ketchup. No stinkin’ bee is gonna keep Maxine from the ketchup.

Since I had my burger for lunch, I doubled my side salad and called it dinner. Red leaf, tomatoes, tofu, cashews, apples, feta cheese, mushrooms and 2 Tbsp of Miso dressing. Why yes, I did measure it out, thanks for asking. It’s too easy to go crazy with salad dressing without realizing it!

salad_624

I saved my grains for dessert!

cereal_dessert

H2H, granola and banana!

Ava and her xray bee vision asked me to take a picture of the small bee hive behind me.

bee_hive

We usually knock these suckers down with hose, and I will tomorrow. If I got the hose out at dinner time I would surely be unable to resist the urge to spray Zak.

And no judgement! I love bees as much as the next environmentalist but I’ve got little kids for crying out loud. I simply use the hose to gently encourage them to build their hives elsewhere. I’ve got lots of flowers in my garden to make up for a little hose on hive action.n

10 Responses

  1. I love lentils; your curried lentil burgers sound awesome. I’ll definitely make them soon! And your salad looks really good too.

  2. Hope your little one is feeling better soon. Ever other person I know is sick or someone sick in their family – not good. That burger looks delicious, as does the salad.

    Libby

  3. Delicious looking lentil burgers! Creative, too. I’m so glad that you have your husband’s back like that. Lol! Sorry that Ava is still under the weather. Hopefully she’ll have a break in whatever is wrong with her and start to feel better soon!

  4. when the kids are in the pool I sit out there on patrol with the hose in jet spray mode to blast the flying bees! They are attracted to our GIANT YELLOW pool. They can see it for miles. Hope Ava feels better soon!

  5. Poor little Ava, but I am sure Maxine loved doing what she wants to for once. I know Gabbie always has to go along with all of Bridget’s games and has second choice at toys.

    That salad looks great. What kind of miso dressing do you use?

    • The only (organic, HFCS free) Miso dressing I can find is the one made by Organicville. It’s actually “Miso Ginger” and is amazing!

      Sounds like life for Maxine and Gabby is pretty similar! 😉

  6. Your girls are too cute!! I may borrow your lentil burger recipe!! Looks delish!!
    -A

  7. i’m freaking out about the bees!!!! i’m allergic and that sends me into panic mode!

  8. Maxine’s face/expression is so cute!

Leave a comment